PDA

View Full Version : Things you can take to the track - help!

DebbieS
04-15-2009, 11:45 AM
Hi,

My husband and I will be attending our first Nascar race in Phoenix this weekend. :D

I have some questions for the experienced race goers about what we can take into the track, and what we can carry it in. :confused:

I'm quite perplexed about the 6"x6"x12" soft-sided bag rule. How strictly is that enforced? And where is the best place to find such a bag? It sounds about the size of a men's shaving travel bag... Does a 6-can soft-cooler fit the bill?

I found a sports "locker bag", that is about 8x8x16. and also a small backpack 4x7x16 plus straps. will either of those be allowed?

All info is much appreciated!!

thanks,
Debbie

racechaser101
04-15-2009, 12:04 PM
Any small softsided cooler should be fine. I use one the that I can fit a 12pack in plus ice. I hang my scanner out of the outer pocket and put my snacks in a plastic grocery bag and use a clip to attach it to the cooler. I have never had a problem. Just don't try to bring glass into the track. If you haven't bought one yet, Walmart, Target or anything type of sporting goods store should have plenty to choose from. I hope this helps you out.

DCNascarFan
04-15-2009, 12:11 PM
I have never been to PIR... but my experience at other tracks is that enforcement of the cooler size rule is pretty lax. They may search your cooler briefly, but no one is standing there with a ruler. Almost any reasonably sized soft-sided cooler will be just fine, in all likelihood. I think the unmentioned "courtesy" rule for fellow race fans is just make sure your cooler can fit underneath your seat as to not block the aisle.

I've always been told if a gate guard does give you some grief about size, just get out of line and try another gate, and another guard.